Past Governor


Kalraj Mishra, a famous Indian politician and a Sangh pracharak made his debut at the Centre in 2014. On May 27, he was appointed as the Cabinet Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSME) under Modi’s prime ministership. He is the member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and has been associated with Uttar Pradesh politics from a very long time. He believes that to work for the welfare of the society, position does not matter. An effective speaker and a great thinker, he did not mind playing a second lead to his colleagues.

Family and Personal Background

Shri Kalraj Mishra was born in a middle class Brahmin agriculturist family of a very small village Malikpur (Saidpur) of Gazipur District. His father used to teach in a near by school for his earning. Shri Kalraj Mishra who was the fourth son of his parents was born on 1st July 1941.

Political Career

In 1963 Kalraj Mishra joined RSS as a pracharak in Gorakhpur and with this started his political career. Looking at his devotion for the Sangh for five years , Kalraj Mishra was posted to Azamgarh as the organising secretary of Bharatiya Jana Sangh. He was given the complete charge of political workings in Azamgarh. At every stage he proved himself to be an effective leader.
During his career he occupied many positions in the government. Apart from being the party chief, he held the portfolios of Public Works, Medical Education and Tourism. He was elected as an MLA many times and was also appointed as a Rajya Sabha member. During his tenure, he formulated the Road Development Policy in UP under which many link roads to connect villages were constructed.
He was elected as the member of Rajya Sabha thrice in 1978, 2001 and 2006. Kalraj Mishra started a campaign wherein all state highways would be made crater free. He also played a major role in the formation of Uttarakhand. By his efforts and organisational capability he was able to make a good and competent organisation.
After serving as a minister under various governments in Uttar Pradesh, Kalraj Mishra fought direct elections in 2012 on the BJP ticket. He contended from Lucknow East assembly constituency and won the seat for BJP. Showing his commitment towards his constituency, he initiated many developmental projects.
Kalraj Mishra won the Parliament Elections 2014 from Deoria constituency and thereafter was appointed as a Cabinet Minister in the Modi government. In his first speech after being appointed, he said “The objective of this ministry is to make the common man self-dependent. Optimum utilisation of human resources in the MSME sector and establishing a framework for this purpose is the need of the time and this ministry will work towards that goal. I aim to fulfil the expectations of the people”.
To allot Kalraj Mishra with the portfolio of MSME by BJP is seen as a positive step. Kalraj Mishra’s experience and his association with BJP from a long time will definitely serve as a catalyst in MSME sector. MSME accounts for 8% of the country’s total GDP. It is also one of the largest employment industries.
Early in his career, Kalraj Mishra was inspired by the JP Movement. He worked as a chairperson of ‘Sampurna Kranti’ meaning Total Revolution. The movement was started by Jayaprakash Narayan in 1974 in UP. With his increasing involvement in politics, in 1978 he was appointed as the National President of the All India Janata Yuva Morcha. From here on his political graph kept growing and he finally reached the position of Cabinet Minister.
Assumed the charge of the Governor of Himachal Pradesh on 22nd July, 2019.

  • 2019: Organizational Incharge of Haryana on January 04, 2019.
  • 2018: Became Chairperson, Standing Committee on Defence on September 01, 2018.
  • 2018: Became Chairperson, Joint Committee on Offices of Profit on January 06, 2018.
  • 2017: Became Member, Standing Committee on Defence on Sept 01, 2017.
  • 2014-2017: Became the Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises on May 26, 2014 till Sep 3, 2017.
  • 2012: Elected MLA from Lucknow (East).
  • 2010: Organizational Incharge of Himachal Pradesh.
  • 2010: Nominated as National Vice President of BJP.
  • 2008: Election Incharge in Uttar Pradesh for Lok Sabha.
  • 2007: Organizational Incharge of Bihar.
  • 2006: Re-elected in Rajya Sabha(Upper House of Indian Parliament).
  • 2006: Organizational Incharge of Rajasthan.
  • 2004: Organizational Incharge of Delhi and Rajasthan.
  • 2003: Organizational Incharge of Uttar Pradesh.
  • 01-06: Member of Standing Committees – Home Affairs, Urban Development, Rural Development.
  • Member of Consultative committees – Health Ministry, Foreign Affairs, Public Undertaking Corporation.
  • Member of Assurance committee of Rajya Sabha.
  • Member of Hindi Bhasha Samiti; and Member of Surface, Transport and Tourism Ministry.
  • 2001: Re-elected in Rajya Sabha.
  • 2001: State President of BJP in Uttar Pradesh.
  • 2000: Minister of PWD and Medical Education.
  • 1998: Minister of PWD and Tourism.
  • 1997: Chairman of Uttranchal Nirman Samiti.
  • 1991: State President of BJP in Uttar Pradesh.
  • 1991: Election Incharge in Uttar Pradesh.
  • 1990: Conducted the ‘Ram Janambhoomi Movement’.
  • 1987: Chairman of Sansadiya Sadbhava Samiti in Legislative Council.
  • 1986: 2001 Member of Legislative Council in Uttar Pradesh.
  • 1980: General Secretary of Rashtriya Loktantrik Morcha (BJP+Janta Dal).
  • 1980: General Secretary of Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) in Uttar Pradesh.
  • 1979: Member of National Executive committee of Janta Party.
  • 1979: Nominated as Convener of Youth Coordination Committee of Janta Party.
  • 1979: Elected as National President of Janta Yuva Morcha ( Youth Organisation of Janta Party ).
  • 1978: Member of Rajya Sabha (Upper House of Indian Parliament).
  • 1977: Election Incharge of Eastern Uttar Pradesh in Janta Party.
  • 1975: Imprisoned under MISA during Emergency from 4 th July 1975 till February 1977.
  • 1974: Convener of Jayprakash Narain Movement in Eastern Uttar Pradesh.
  • 1972: Election Incharge of Gujarat Assembly elections.
  • 1968: Organizing Secretary in Jansangh
  • 1968: Member, Bharatiya Jana Sangh (B.J.S)
  • 1963: Joined RSS as Sangh Prachark
Last Reviewed/Updated: 12-Sep-2019
Home  |  Governor  |  Photo Gallery  |  Contact Us

Disclaimer: Website designed and hosted by National Informatics Centre through CSP Himachal Pradesh. Contents owned and updated by Governor House.       Contents of this website are informative only and for benefit of the public. However, these do not confer any legal right or obligation.